The Buddha left us a set of guidelines for us to follow on the path to be free from suffering. Here is a simple explanation of that set of guidelines.

The Eightfold Path

1. Right Understanding: To keep ourselves free of prejudice and superstition, and to see the true nature of life.

2. Right Thought: To turn our minds away from the violence and hatred in this world and work on focusing on the positive.

3. Right Speech: To refrain from harmful talk and to use our words wisely.

4. Right Action: To see that our deeds come from peace and goodwill. To grow every day in the Buddha’s Teachings.

5. Right Livelihood: To try to earn our living in such a way that we avoid harming ourselves and others.

6. Right Effort: To use our energies to promote the overcoming ignorance and destructive desires.

7. Right Mindfulness: To cherish a good mind and be attentive.

8. Right Concentration: To practice meditation and cultivate awareness.


4 thoughts on “A Simple Version of the Eightfold Path.

    1. I used the word ‘right’ because it is the most common translation of the word ‘samma’. I’ve seen it translated as ‘correct’, ‘perfect’, and ‘complete’, as well. I prefer ‘correct’ because ‘right’ does seem to have moral connotations and that isn’t really what we mean with the eightfold path. The word ‘right’ in this instance means ‘correct’.

  1. One of the things that drew me to Buddhism was the word ‘right’. It was so different from the ‘thou shalt not’ I had grown up with. I felt it gave one the choice to make the right decisions.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s